Is It Time to Give the Self-Help Articles a Rest?

And look to explore other genres of writing instead.

Ryan J
2 min readMar 19, 2020
Image by Pexels from Pixabay

As I was lying on the couch aimlessly scrolling through the hundreds of drafts/writing ideas that are saved on my phone, looking for something to spark my interest and actually motivate me to write, I experienced a sudden epiphany.

You see, pretty much from the day I began writing blog posts, a few years ago, my main topic of interest has been based in and around the self-improvement and self-help genres.

I enjoy these pieces.

As well as hopefully providing some sort of motivation and inspiration to the few readers that I attract with my writing, creating these pieces also helps me to clear my mind, make sense of my thoughts and give me a better idea of how best to work towards achieving my various goals in life.

They act as a kind of free therapy for me at times.

But it’s now 2020, the self-help industry has been going strong for many years and I feel we may have reached a point where there really is nothing new to be said on the subject.

Even as I write own little articles, pieces that derive from my own personal experiences and day to day life, I feel the lessons that I learn, and that I hope to pass on to the readers…

--

--

Ryan J

From Northern Ireland 🍀 | Based in Sydney 🦘 | Writing about life, mindset and whatever else catches my attention.